_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
painting tank tracks,
junkman
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 10 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 06, 2003 - 05:40 AM UTC
im building a russian tank and i was wondering what are the basic colors of the tracks.please help,as im still new to armor models.
Venom
Visit this Community
Alessandria, Italy
entire network: 720 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 06, 2003 - 06:52 AM UTC
Hi
I'm doing a german tiger and I have the same problem, I can't realize a true track colour
we need your help guys! :-)

regards
godfather
Visit this Community
Canada
entire network: 817 Posts
KitMaker Network: 148 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 06, 2003 - 08:18 AM UTC
I find that painting track a dark choclate brown mixed with grey to be a good start. I then wash with burnt umber and a bit or burnt sienna, sepia also work well. I then drybrush with a mix of dark earth and white (teh white is oil paint and the DE is enamel). i try to make this a bit lighter than the track color. Once done add pastels to get adusty look and there you go. I vary between each subject. almost forgot on parts of teh track that get alot of contact I brybrush either humbrol metalcote or use a prismacolor silver pencil crayon depending on effect I am after. Hope this helps.
junkman
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 10 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 06, 2003 - 08:30 AM UTC
thank you very much godfather you gave me some good tips on painting my tracks.
capnjock
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 860 Posts
KitMaker Network: 340 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 06, 2003 - 09:24 AM UTC