_GOTOBOTTOM
 Community Forum: Kiwi Korner
Want to meet up with modelers in your country or region? This is the place.
Wooden Blocks for bases?
Moeggo
Visit this Community
Wellington, New Zealand
entire network: 169 Posts
KitMaker Network: 9 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 26, 2010 - 11:44 PM UTC
Does anyone know of or have a contact in NZ for wooden bases? This time I'm looking for a block or a off cut to mount a Bust/Figure?

Cheers!
matt
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 5,957 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,626 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 27, 2010 - 12:51 AM UTC
I'm not in NZ but I'm also a woodworker. I have all kinds of lumber I can make bases out of. the shipping would depend on weight, which depends on the size needed.

Maybe we could work something out (either finished or unfinished) if you can't find anything locally.

Matt
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 27, 2010 - 01:09 AM UTC
Check out arts and crafts stores. In the States, we have Michaels and AC Moore, usually located in malls and shoppoing centers. They have 2 inch (5cm) unfinished pine blocks for about $1 USD. They also have unfinished candle stick holders that cam be cut done and various other wooden products that work well as bases. Look for decoupage and craft supplies in your yellow pages (or equivalent business directory). A little stain, maybe some wax and you have a presentable base. For special figures, I do buy more expensive bases at shows.
dioman13
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
entire network: 2,184 Posts
KitMaker Network: 356 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, April 28, 2010 - 01:09 AM UTC