_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
help picking 1/35 scale scale model
imdead
Visit this Community
New York, United States
entire network: 119 Posts
KitMaker Network: 116 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 12, 2010 - 05:21 AM UTC
Hi guys, I am new to afv but not to modeling , I want some advice on picking a 1/35 scale german ww2 tank . I want a good company with good details and readly avalible detail parts like barrels and photo etch parts with out ordering overseas
MCR
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
entire network: 464 Posts
KitMaker Network: 54 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 12, 2010 - 11:35 AM UTC
Personally, I'd suggest either Tamiya or DML Tiger kits (I or II, doesn't matter).
The Tamiya kits are nicely detailed but "simpler" being easier to assemble but look good when finished.
The DML kits are somewhat better detailed (though most of that additional detail is pretty much invisible when all's said and done) and include many more parts than Tamiya (many completely unnecessary in my opinion).
Also the DML kits are much newer and benefit from newer research and some small details are more accurate than Tamiya. (For the better part though these improvements are small and only really matter to some of us detail freaks)
You really can't go wrong with either company and both fit all your requirements.

Mark
Tarok
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 10,889 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,373 Posts
Posted: Monday, April 12, 2010 - 01:40 PM UTC
This is one of those really loaded questions to which you're going to get dozens of opinions

So here's one more

For ease of assembly and instruction readability you can't beat Tamiya. They're not always necessarily the most accurate kits around, but I reckon hit the mark more than not. If you want to play around with PE, resin and metal barrels most AM manufacturers have products for the Tamiya kits

They're also available just about anywhere

R~
imdead