What airbrush should I purchase?
Tigerific
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 6 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5 Posts
Posted: Friday, March 05, 2010 - 06:41 PM UTC
Hi Everyone,

After a long hiatus, 1990, I'm back into modeling!! Very happy to be back! I'm into WWII armor and have already completed 6 kits since my return last month.

I want to get into the airbrushing side of things and have NO idea what airbrush to purchase. I've browsed through this site and have looked on ebay and craigslist but there are SO many choices. Being a beginner, what should I steer toward? I saw a cheap one on ebay, $70 shipped that includes airbrush and compressor. I hear great things about Iwaata, Paasche, Badger.....that's why I'm so confused right now. Again, I'm a beginner airbrusher so any feedback is great!!

Thanks everyone,
Sean
NikToo
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
entire network: 26 Posts
KitMaker Network: 9 Posts
Posted: Friday, March 05, 2010 - 09:24 PM UTC
I don't think you can go far wrong with any of the "big names", like Iwata, Badger, Aztek, etc. Personally, I use an Iwata Eclipse, just because I found it at a good price on eBay. The one thing I would recommend against is a no-name knockoff, often advertised as being made "by the same company", when in fact the metal and tooling is inferior. My first airbrush was one of these copies, and it almost drove me crazy. It would stick, leak, and corroded something chronic. The inside was some copper alloy which is now so corroded the needle's stuck in a mass of green copper oxide.