_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
Annealing PE? When and when not to do it?
Dogwatch
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 48 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5 Posts
Posted: Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 09:54 PM UTC
Im still pretty new to working with PE and was wondering when and when you aren't supposed to anneal the metal. It seems incredibly soft already but Ive noticed that Eduard and Dragon PE feel very different (dont have any experience with the other companies like Aber etc.). Does annealing help strengthen the brass in any way (like hardening with metalworking)? Ive had a couple of pieces where Ive broken very tiny attachment points off with no hope of recovery. Any other advice on PE? Im using The Bug as a folder and it works great.

Steve
Plasticbattle
Visit this Community
Donegal, Ireland
entire network: 9,763 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,351 Posts
Posted: Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 10:15 PM UTC
Hi Steve. Annealing makes the etch more workable, especailly when you need curves and difficult shapes and the definition isnīt great. New Eduard etch is very thin, and probably doesnīt need it so much .... Dragon is thicker, and maybe isnīt as well etched so could benifit from annealing.
Emeritus
Visit this Community
Uusimaa, Finland
entire network: 2,845 Posts
KitMaker Network: 424 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 28, 2010 - 05:01 AM UTC
Depends on the metal used for the parts and the bends required. Heating up the parts and letting the cool down on their own takes off much of the springiness and also makes the parts easier to cut off the fret and clean up. For heating, I recommend a lighter, as using a candle will most likely result in soot on the parts.
I've normally had to resort to annealing only with PE parts made of steel, for example those found on older Dragon kits. When using such parts, I normally anneal all parts that need any kind of bending.