_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Brush Advise
vindicate
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 22 Posts
KitMaker Network: 9 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 28, 2009 - 02:19 PM UTC
I'm just starting out and I need to get some brushes. I don't want to spend alot of money since I am just getting into it, and I who knows I may not even like modeling.

I found these Link to brushes.

I also saw as set of brushes at Walmart for $5 that saud they were for Acrylic, Oil and Water Color. They looked alot like the ones I linked to. Would those be okay, or would that be terrible?
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
entire network: 10,954 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,873 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 28, 2009 - 02:31 PM UTC
You have heard the saying "a bad workman blames his tools", when it comes to using brushes for painting buy the best you can afford, as you cannot get a good finish with cheap brushes. A good quality brush will last you a very long time if looked after, and so in the long run is the cheaper option. Use cheap brushes for applying groundwork and weathering.

You have not said what area of the hobby you are interested in, this could have a bearing on what type of brushes you buy, such as figures needing finer brushes rather than the base cote on a tank.
slodder
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
entire network: 11,718 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,584 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 29, 2009 - 01:18 AM UTC
Agreed - go with the best brushes you can afford.
Look to get natural fibers if possible, sable (sabel), any hair. Treat them well and keep them clean.

The shapes of the brushes is driven by the subjects you paint. Narrow rounds for figures, flat squares for larger subjects.