_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Health and Safety
Have a question about what is safe or an experience that might warn others?
Saftey concerns with home made spray box
Wardster
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 27 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 17, 2003 - 05:00 AM UTC
I read an article that suggested I should be careful about sparks coming from my lamp and/or fan motor.
I bought a cheap range hood. It was made to vent out the front, but I covered that and cut a hole in the top to vent the fumes outside with dryer tubing.
Should I be worried about the lighting unit and fan giving off sparks???
I had never thought of this and will be starting to use it soon.
Thanks for any advice you can give....
keenan
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
entire network: 5,272 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,192 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 17, 2003 - 05:09 AM UTC
I am by no means an expert but I do have a couple of points:
1. I don't think you have to worry too much about sparks from the light itself.
2. The eletric motor for the fan could be a problem, esp. if you are shooting laquer based paints. I don't know how great a chance there is for a serious explosion but I do know that the part of the motor where the brushes contact the rotor produces sparks.

Maybe someone else can weigh in on both points.

Shaun

PS, Welcome aboard, Wardster!!
GhengisWong
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 74 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 17, 2003 - 06:37 AM UTC
If it's a cooking hood, I think others have said that they are pretty good since they are meant to be in contact with grease and other flammables. As a safety precaution, I have just put a fire extinguisher near mine in case something happens.

mongo_mel
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
entire network: 1,580 Posts
KitMaker Network: 244 Posts
Posted: Thursday, July 17, 2003 - 06:42 AM UTC
Hi Wardster,