_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!: Sci-Fi
This is a group for sci-fi scratchbuilding questions, topics and projects.
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
ACUTR - Post Apocalypse Truck
adamsmasher
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
entire network: 192 Posts
KitMaker Network: 135 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 13, 2009 - 09:04 AM UTC
I started this last week but just now finally got around to starting the build log. This is my first attempt at scratch building, so I used the Revell 99' Cheverolet Silverado truck as the base. The general theme for this is Mad Max meets Zombie Apocalypse. It's OK, I'm totally comfortable with my geeky nerd quotient. On to the photos!

At this point I'm just following the steps since the engine and frame are going to be left unchanged.

And the engine in situ. Since I hand paint everything, I usually paint as I go:

I decided that I wanted chains on the tires with the idea that they would help give traction in the loose sand and dirt after the land was destroyed. Plus, they just look good, right? I think the scale is a little oversized, but it'll suffice I guess.

Fully assembled:

And now with some paint:

Frame and wheels together:

Time to start slicing up the body and some styrene... Thanks for looking!
HARV
Visit this Community
Wyoming, United States
entire network: 3,098 Posts
KitMaker Network: 899 Posts
Posted: Friday, November 13, 2009 - 02:26 PM UTC
Looking cool Adam. That will be a great project when finished.

The Mad Max movies are among my favorite movies. In fact all three of them are on television tonight.