_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!
Built a model or part from your own materials lately?
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
HELP Scratch Building in 1/35 What Do I Need?
shopkin4
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
entire network: 1,135 Posts
KitMaker Network: 89 Posts
Posted: Friday, October 16, 2009 - 02:33 PM UTC
I am going to start my next project in a little under a month and I want to make some additions to the project that make my model unique, so what better than to scratchbuild! However, I have never done it, and hobby shops that carry plastic are a decent trip away so I am better ordering it online.

I have never done it before, but for 1/35 scale could someone possibly list some tools. This would help me as well as others. If something like this exists already then point me in the right direction.

From what I think I will need for any general scratch building would be:
T beams
H beams
Thin Rod
Possible a punch die (had one and lost it)

lets go from there

THanks
modelnutz
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 24 Posts
KitMaker Network: 14 Posts
Posted: Friday, October 16, 2009 - 04:39 PM UTC
Not really tool nrelated...just a good materials tip.
Search out the plastic "for sale" signs at your local home depot type store.
They're made from styrene and come in a few different thicknesses.
Don't cost much either !
retiredbee2
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 757 Posts
KitMaker Network: 180 Posts
Posted: Saturday, October 17, 2009 - 05:08 AM UTC