_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hi everyone :-)
WLJayne
Visit this Community
Wales, United Kingdom
entire network: 54 Posts
KitMaker Network: 9 Posts
Posted: Sunday, February 22, 2009 - 12:41 AM UTC
Hi all,

I hope this is the right forum, I just thougt I'd introduce myself. This looks like a really great place for modellers and I'm looking forward to seeing everyone's work.

I've been modelling since I was tiny. I think I was three when I sat down with my dad and made a Red Arrows Hawk. Though I got impatient and tried to make it with pritt stick! I was soon doing it all by myself and thus began a lifelong passion that has lead to a budding career. I'm in my final year of university, studying for a bachelors in Modelmaking for Design and Media (yes you can study modelmaking!) if you're interested check out the course's website, there's some awesome talent there. I started my own company, Gwylan Models last year making 1:1250 scale collectable model ships. It's going really well so far and I'm seriously considering going full time with it after I graduate.

I don't get to build many models for myself unfortunately, and I like to do the occasional kit. Though I really love scratchbuilding if I have time. If I'm doing a kit usually I try to go all out on the painting side as that's definately my favourite part. I really enjoy designing models, and I am very keen on CAD and CAM which is my main professional focus.

At the moment I have a miniart T-70 and Zis-3 in front of me, and I'm planning a diorama at the moment. Some kind of waterside scene with a scratch built half-sunken fishing boat. I'm really looking forward to getting stuck in, and I've been doing alot of research and I'm almost ready to go.

Anyway, my housemates are hassling me to go to the pub, a few brews would go down nicely tonight. See you all around, I'll post up pics of my work for crtique some time .

Will.
exer