_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Advice on...
Need some general advice? Place it here.
Reference Books? (diverse topics!)
all_lucky7777
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 22 Posts
KitMaker Network: 15 Posts
Posted: Monday, January 26, 2009 - 07:10 PM UTC
I've decided to buy some books for these hobbies, and was wondering what the best are for each thing. The topics are pretty diverse.

So what are the best reference books for:

1. Model tank, aircraft, ship weathering
2. Fantasy/Sci-Fi figure Painting
3. Terrain/Dioramas/Landscapes etc

I've decided to buy some Reaper fantasy minis, some small scale WWII planes/ships/tanks, and maybe create some realistic dioramas with them, for the sake of trying to become a better hobbyist. These things are all fairly cheap. I just thought it was important to get the best books on the market for reference.

I understand that this isn't an overnight thing, I've been playing Warhammer 40k for three years, which involves all three topics above. I just want to set the learning process moving.

Any Advice?

Thanks!
-Zack
35th-scale
Visit this Community
Kildare, Ireland
entire network: 3,212 Posts
KitMaker Network: 250 Posts
Posted: Thursday, January 29, 2009 - 02:31 AM UTC
I love the Concord series of books on Modern armor. I'm sure their WWII reference books are equally good.

Going by your specified interests you might just want to subscribe to something like Fine Scale Modeler magazine. It usually has about 4 detailed articles on diverse topics, a very good and inspiring readers gallery, new product reviews and readers tips.

For the sci-fi you might want to check out www.starshipmodeler.net
It's just like here (great forums, reviews, gallery and nice people) except for sci-fi subjects.

Cheers,
Sean
Damraska
Visit this Community
California, United States
entire network: 580 Posts
KitMaker Network: 77 Posts
Posted: Friday, January 30, 2009 - 11:55 AM UTC
Hi Zack,