_GOTOBOTTOM
 Community Forum: The Union Jack Club
Want to meet up with modelers in your country or region? This is the place.
One night in November.
Twelvelegs
Visit this Community
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
entire network: 23 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Saturday, November 15, 2008 - 12:31 PM UTC
Hello,
I went to see the above titled play this evening and it was very good. Its basically about the raid that devastated Coventry on the night of 14 Nov 1940 but wrapped up in a plot line involving a budding love affair and the possibility that Churchill may have knew that the raid was coming but did nothing to keep the enigma code break secret. Whether there is any truth in the latter i have no idea, but it was very good theatre.

My grandad was an air raid warden that night and i am a serving Police Officer in Coventry so i felt some strong connections, and amongst the audience i could hear people talking about their experiences of that night, it made the 68 years that have passed seem not too long ago at all. Coventry still has reminders of that night and the subsequent raids, as demonstrated last year, when the theatre was first performing the play on the 67th anniversary of the raid. On the construction site next to the Belgrade theatre a live WW2 german bomb was unearthed and subsequently detonated on site, but only after the city centre and surrounding areas where evacuated and i did a 16 hour shift. Made me chuckle that 67 years ago my Grandad was having an utterly crap time because of German bombs and there was i 67 years later and still our family was geting messed around by German bombs!
I know this isn't really connected with modeling, but as we all seem to like our military history i thought it would be nice share this small piece with you.

Chris.

MTDriver
Visit this Community
England - East Midlands, United Kingdom
entire network: 119 Posts
KitMaker Network: 66 Posts
Posted: Saturday, November 15, 2008 - 05:42 PM UTC