_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Vallejo paints
Belafonte
Visit this Community
Illinois, United States
entire network: 43 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Thursday, October 16, 2008 - 01:59 PM UTC
Hi all,

I am new to the armor modeling and I need some paint for my airbrush. My local hobby shop (Hobby Land) can get Vallejo paints and the come from MMD the supplier of Squadron. I have been looking on the squadren sight and found all the Vallejo paint, how do I know what kind of paint can be used in airbrushes( squadren does not say what type of paint). I am building a 1/35 Tamiya Pak 40 L46 so I guess I will need the set of German WWII colors.

If you can give an answer, it will be appreciated!
Jacob
Tarok
Visit this Community
Victoria, Australia
entire network: 10,889 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,373 Posts
Posted: Thursday, October 16, 2008 - 02:09 PM UTC
The 2 main Vallejo brands are Model Color and Model Air. The former is meant for brush painting, the latter for A/B. That said, although I haven't tried it personally, I believe Model Color can also be sprayed.

Have a look on their site though, as they have a wealth of information available there. Also, I believe they may have a Panzer Aces brand? Which would more than likely be what you're looking for.
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
entire network: 2,412 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,030 Posts
Posted: Thursday, October 16, 2008 - 02:31 PM UTC
You can spray both in your A/B. Model color is much thicker, so expect to dilute it ALOT, perhaps a 1/1 ratio (one part paint to one part thinner).

However, i havn't had the best success with this line of paint in my airbrushes. They are a little too translucent imho so i use tamiya paints as a base and then work my way around with Vallejo for color variations etc.

Try them out, worth the try.

Frank
viper29_ca
Visit this Community
New Brunswick, Canada
entire network: 2,247 Posts