_GOTOBOTTOM
Tools & Supplies
Discussions on the latest and greatest tools, glues, and gadgets.
Hosted by Matt Leese
Xtracrylix....?
Lucky13
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,707 Posts
KitMaker Network: 530 Posts
Posted: Thursday, September 18, 2008 - 06:02 AM UTC
What are they like? I thought that I'd try Hannant's own brand, since a few of Tamiya's paints needed for my 1/48 Mosquito and Beaufighter are not sold here in the UK and EU, due to their contents....
So, all things considered, what are the pros and cons for Xtracrylix?

Cheers a bunch!
thegirl
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
entire network: 6,743 Posts
KitMaker Network: 456 Posts
Posted: Thursday, September 18, 2008 - 05:57 PM UTC
Well Jan , I have never tried this brand before but , I have heard poitive things about them .
Easy to work with and close the natural colours . Have you thought about trying Model Color (Vallejo) .
Lucky13
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
Posted: Thursday, September 18, 2008 - 08:15 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Well Jan , I have never tried this brand before but , I have heard poitive things about them .
Easy to work with and close the natural colours . Have you thought about trying Model Color (Vallejo) .

Nope.....never thought about them to be honest! Just checked with Hannant's and they don't have them....
Anyhoo....are they any good?

Thanks Terri,
Bigskip
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
entire network: 2,487 Posts
KitMaker Network: 464 Posts
Posted: Friday, September 19, 2008 - 01:26 AM UTC
Jan

I can recommend both Vallejo or Xtracylix paints - for airbrushing at least, vallejo are good for brush painting thinned with distilled water. you can use DW for thinning xtracrylix, but i use there own thinner for that.

I use both the above and tamiya acryl's, whatever i need to get the best (least worst) match. Even enamels if i have too, but if so use cellulose thinner and a mask, drying time is much better.