_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!: Armor/AFV
This is a group for armor scratchbuilding questions, topics and projects.
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
cutting circles
sgtreef
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
entire network: 6,043 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,603 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2002 - 05:12 PM UTC
Howdy
How are you guys cutting circles out of plastic sheet,as you can tell I am a little new at circle cutting but I need to cut me some. Was thinking paper punch but would not work on thicker plastic.
thanks
TJ
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 45 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2002 - 07:24 PM UTC
I bought a decent compass at Michael's Craft store (with a little wheel in between the arms). The wheel keeps the arms at the proper size. I also replaced the pencil lead with a metal point from a cheap school compass (hacked it off with a bolt cutter). Just keep one arm stationary and spin the other until you scribe enough to break away the excess. It also works well for transferring measurements from a drawing to the sheet plastic.
CaptainJack
Visit this Community
Luxembourg, Belgium
entire network: 793 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2002 - 07:30 PM UTC
Depending upon the size desired there are several options. First you have the "official" compass cutters. These are marketed by all the major tool companies. Barring this I also stock this item. This allows you to cut maximum circles of about 6-8cm circumfrance. Alternatively, there are what is commonly reffered to as dry wall cutters, destined for cuuting holes in "sheet-rock" material. These usualy go from about 2cm circumfrance right on up to more than you would normally require. Surprise surprise I also stock these. Look around and if you have difficulty let me know.

Cheers

Captain Jack :-)
TJ
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 45 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 16, 2002 - 07:33 PM UTC