_GOTOBOTTOM
Introductions
If you are new to the network please post a little something here to introduce yourself.
Hello, or should that be Hallo?
cfsfido
Visit this Community
Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
entire network: 42 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 29, 2008 - 02:18 AM UTC
As you will soon discovery I am a Newbie, well to be honest, I used to build models, but that was 35+ years ago. There have been so many changes in the hobby, new kit suppliers, better detail, new glues, and with some old standbys like Humbrol Classic having gone by the way side, I feel like a newbie. One other small change is that after living in the United States for my entire life, I recently moved the Netherlands, so I don't even have local contacts to help me out in a pinch.
I have always had a deep passion for German armor, so I recently purchased a DML Sd.Kfz 251/17 Ausf.D mounting the 2 cm. Schwebelafette as my first build in decades. It seems like a fine model, but before I start, I am hoping to find after market figures for the gun crew, and there is the question of what paint colors I should use to represent the original RAL colors now that Humbrol Classic is no longer around. I have read so many different opinions on the subject, that at one point I almost felt like giving up or just slopping on a coat of white wash once it was finished.
To say I am confused is probably a gross understatement, so I hope you will bare with me till I can come up to speed.

Thanks for reading my post.
Fido
Henk
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
entire network: 6,391 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,600 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 29, 2008 - 03:46 AM UTC
Welkom aan boord Fido

Or in case your Dutch is not yet up to speed, welcome on board.
You are in the right place for your answers, just post them in the AFV forum, and I'm sure you will get as many different opinions as replies..lol serious though, this is a helpful bunch.