_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General
General discussions about modeling topics.
How I Paint Figures
dolly15
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
entire network: 8,227 Posts
KitMaker Network: 1,502 Posts
Posted: Monday, March 17, 2008 - 08:24 AM UTC
This thread is for those who would like to try painting figures in a less conventional way.For those who have tried in the past but were unhappy with the results.For those self taught guys who are looking to do an acceptable job of figure painting without all the hassles.Please keep a open mind and you professionals out there please try to remember that this is geared towards guys like me who want to do an acceptable job without the benefit of any artistic training.(try not to laugh!)
dolly15
Visit this Community
Quebec, Canada
Posted: Monday, March 17, 2008 - 09:19 AM UTC
Because I come from a different background than most modelers when it comes to painting figures my methods are a little different than you will see elsewhere.Not better,just different and very easy to do.Yes,I went through all the same problems that you may be having now but it was only when I stopped daydreaming about being the best figure painter in the world that I became an acceptable one.Some work a lifetime just painting figures,we dioramists should be so lucky! Figure painting is just one thing in a long list of skills that we must develop to become dioramists.We can't be the best at every facet of the game but we can be good at most.
Yes I have read most of the long winded explanations about painting and frankly I have found them boring, more geared to the trained artist than the ordinary guy just trying to do a nice job.Personally I have no training in the arts and I guess some would say that it shows! But I also don't have all the baggage of formal training to weigh me down and I like to think that I am a little more willing to experiment with new ways of doing things.