_GOTOBOTTOM
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
Washes exaggerated by photos
Kuno-Von-Dodenburg
Visit this Community
England - North, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,453 Posts
KitMaker Network: 89 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 29, 2008 - 04:51 AM UTC
First off I have to state that I'm a rank amateur in matters photographic.

But undaunted, I've recently started trying to take pics of my AFV models.

However, the main problem I seem to be getting is that no matter what I try, in the pics that I take the washes on my models show up much deeper and darker than they actually are, bare metal effects comes up very shiny, and all color subtlety is lost while every minor flaw that isn't apparent to the naked eye (or at least not very apparent) suddenly becomes a glaring, in-your-face feature.

Tinkering around in my picture editing program on my PC doesn't seem to help much either.

Either my camera's crap for this kind of work (it's a Canon PowerShot A60 with - I think - 2 megapixels), or I'm a crap photographer or I'm making some very basic errors.

Any pointers gratefully accepted. Thanks in advance.

- Steve
ww2scalearmor
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 2 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, January 29, 2008 - 05:18 AM UTC
There is alot of information about how you have your camera setup that we would need to know, but that aside. Once you have uploaded your pictures you need to open them in Mcrosoft Picture Manager --Edit Pictures--Resize--Custom W&H--1024X768
AFTER you resize click -- AUTO CORRECT

What this does is makes your picture dimensions and appearance acceptable normally to any website as well as give you a starting point to figuring out what you are doing wrong. (YOU MAY NOT BE DOING ANYTHING WRONG AND INDEED ARE IN POSSESSION OF A KRAPPY CAMERA)
I sounds like your contrast may be too high and you need to lighten you camera W/B(white balance) as well.