_GOTOBOTTOM
Photography
Questions about shooting your models and dioramas? Ask here.
help with blue background
SIRNEIL
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
entire network: 658 Posts
KitMaker Network: 40 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 31, 2007 - 05:30 AM UTC
hi guys
can anyone please tell me why most of the good looking pictures on the kitmaker network have a blue background.
i am very new to photographing my models and any help is greatly appreciated.also my wife bought me a canon 350D for christmas and any help as to how to get the best from my new toy will also make me a very happy modeler.
happy new year & all the best.
neil
Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
entire network: 15,338 Posts
KitMaker Network: 5,072 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 31, 2007 - 06:52 AM UTC
OK, I really don't know why others do it, but I do know why I do it.
I use several different blues though, (they range from a rich royal blue to a pale blue grey) as it supplies a nice contrast between the OD or green/browns (my usual subject colors) and helps me keep a better white balance color. Plus being half color blind, and brain dead, it allows me to adjust the photo easier, simply by posting a small section of the background paper or cloth to my monitor while editing. If I get the back ground to match the sample, chances are the rest will work out.
wbill76
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
entire network: 5,425 Posts
KitMaker Network: 341 Posts
Posted: Monday, December 31, 2007 - 07:09 AM UTC
Neil,