_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!
Built a model or part from your own materials lately?
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
Scratch building – how to begin?
UM83CANES
Visit this Community
Virginia, United States
entire network: 275 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 09:30 AM UTC
Scratch building – how to begin?

Hello everyone, I’m consistently amazed by the scratch built models and modifications I see around here. As someone who fascinated by IDF armor I’d love to know how to scratch build some of the modifications the Israeli’s have added to their AFV’s.

The problem is, I have no idea how or where to begin. How did you learn to scratch build? Are there manuals dedicated to the art of scratch building?

My local hobby store is full of Evergreen sheet plastic etc but what are the essential tools I need to begin working with it. Any general information, guidance, or techniques you can share with me as a total beginner would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Noah
okdoky
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,597 Posts
KitMaker Network: 673 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 09:59 AM UTC
Hey BARV!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When you going to do that DVD we all would love to buy????????

He is one of the Gods on here for scratch!

Nige

barv
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,594 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 11:33 AM UTC

.....thats all I need Nige .......flogging DVD'S -------then having to pay VAT...... ..and TAX .... -----on my pension...
Sheeesh !! taking me all my time to FIND TIME to build things for myself ....would take an age and a half to cover the aspects concerning "The Dark Art "