_GOTOBOTTOM
Modeling in General: Weathering
Discuss general weathering topics here.
Help. I need to know the correct way to wash!
Fritz
Visit this Community
Metro Manila, Philippines
entire network: 495 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 18, 2003 - 06:46 PM UTC
Hello advanced modelers!
Could anyone please show me the complete steps in washing? You know, the type of thinner to be used, what kind of paint etc. I know it sounds quite ridiculous but since I am just a beginner modeler, I really need some tips to improve my skills. Actually I’ve read many tips on how to wash, I tried them all but with below average results w/c sometimes lead to making my model look like it was scavenged from a junk shop. For anyone who might give me effective tips, you could send it to me via email at [email protected]. Thanks
MrFritz
Visit this Community
United States
entire network: 114 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 19, 2003 - 12:13 AM UTC
This is a cool article I found to be useful!

PC Modeler Article
AJLaFleche
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
entire network: 8,074 Posts
KitMaker Network: 2,574 Posts
Posted: Wednesday, March 19, 2003 - 12:56 AM UTC
I'm guessing armor. I just did a bunch of that last night. I put a dab of Payne's Gray oil on a take out condiment cap and added thinner, just plain old thinner until the mixture was tinted. You can tell it's ready when you put a drop on a crease and capilary action pulls the wash up without leaving a big glob of paint. I then applied it liberally to any grill work to give real depth and to the running gear. Then I applied small amounts at the edges of any raised detail, along sharp edges and into panel lines. Except along long weld lines, I didn't use any brushing motion, just laid a drop and let capilary action take over. I used tha same wash on al all OD US tank and a three color German WWII vehicle. :-)
chip250
Visit this Community
Wisconsin, United States
entire network: 1,864 Posts