_GOTOBOTTOM
Scratchbuilders!: Armor/AFV
This is a group for armor scratchbuilding questions, topics and projects.
Hosted by Mike Kirchoff
Making a part of a tire. Help needed..
feldgrau
Visit this Community
Antwerpen, Belgium
entire network: 496 Posts
KitMaker Network: 0 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 09, 2007 - 07:45 AM UTC
Hi all,

I'm new to scratchbuilding and I'm thinking to make just the wheel for an Italian Pavesi Tractor P4 100, in 1/35 scale. One part of the wheel are the metal 'spikes' which can be folded outwards to give the wheel more grip on the surface. Have a look here for an example :

http://www.landships.freeservers.com/jpegs/pavesi-truck_KEH1.jpg

Each wheel has 10 of these. In 1/35 scale, its about 6mm long (widest spot) and 4 mm thivk, an irregular shape, curved as well, etc...

Does anyone has a tip how these could be replicated in 1/35, which tecnique to use, material, etc..

Manty thanks
Johan

barv
Visit this Community
Scotland, United Kingdom
entire network: 1,594 Posts
Posted: Saturday, June 09, 2007 - 09:43 AM UTC

Now!!!---do you really want to do this
----do you really -really want to do this
----do you want to be "certified"
-----do you !!!!!!!

Well!.......get a piece of Evergreen ----8mm x8mm strip ----cut and carve to shape ......1/2 round /round file....will give the curve .......then bore holes to depth and carve /scrape out areas to give "feet "....drill with 0.020" drill for hinge pin --use pice of 0.080"sheet drilled out for other part of hinge ..
then --make a mold and using a resin /car filler --make as many as required
Once completed got to Doctor and get pills for mental stress--as you will need when trying to fix to wheels and make work ....Wheels and spokes...should not be attempted until sanity returns

If all else fails --drop me a line and I (burble-burble!! ) will do some drawings for you
Deep Darkness is decending --I can feel the force slipping away!!
aye
BARV
(GOSMG)
Murdo
Visit this Community